Album Review — Skillet

Dave Maturo
4 min readJan 25, 2022

--

Skillet — Dominion

Before I review the first album of 2022, it’s a good time to remind you that these reviews are strictly my own. I write about what I hear and what I think about it. I try to give some facts about the band and album and try to give a basic idea of what the record sounds like. But music is subjective so that’s important to remember. My hope is to give you a general idea of what the album sounds like and if I like it. But I leave it to you to decide what you think.

This is important to remember as I review the first record of 2022.

Skillet released “Dominion” in mid January and is the follow up to their 2019 release “Victorious”. Before I get into the album I need to give you a little personal background because that will effect my review.

I go way back with this band personally as I brought them in as a promoter in the 90s. It’s not something I did a lot of, but I did interact with the band, and for the most part, they were pleasant to work with. The band has seen a bunch of member changes over the years while their music style has evolved. The centerpiece and only original member of the band is vocalist/bassist John Cooper.

The band was originally on a Christian label and they have mostly stuck to their roots although they have tried to cross into the mainstream, touring with big bands but also still keeping one foot in the Christian music scene. In the last few months Cooper has made his thoughts known on the COVID situation and let’s just say that they aren’t in line with the majority of thinking on the topic, especially the medical community. The band has gone so far as to refuse to play any venue that has any restrictions due to the pandemic.

Over the years some rock stars have shared about their personal feelings on controversial topics. Some stump for a political candidates or share their opinions on various topics. It’s a double edged sword when this happens. For those that agree, it’s another reason to like the band or artist. But when you don’t agree, it can be awkward and sometimes downright off-putting.

Without going into the details, I can say the latter has happened with me and this band. So I can’t in good conscience review this record without first informing you of that. Cooper’s opinions color everything about this record for me, so much so that I couldn’t listen one time through without shaking my head in disappointment.

So I’m not going to give the record a score and I’ll keep the review quite short.

If you’ve heard any of the last four or five Skillet records, this record has a similar sound to it. There are a couple of new twists as Cooper takes to rapping on a song or two and the use of drummer/vocalist Jen Ledger has increased as she sings on over half the tracks in some capacity.

There is a lot on the record about rebelling and freedom and the “truth” and the band is a little more aggressive in sharing about their version of “faith”. There are multiple allusions to being in a “war” throughout the record as well. Cooper is clearly passionate and this latest controversy has clearly fired him up and pushed him to be more aggressive about sharing his beliefs in his songwriting.

That’s about all I can say without getting into the things I don’t like about the record. For me, a large part about enjoying a record or an artist is about connecting with what they are talking about. Clearly that is no longer the case here and unfortunately it has ruined the band for me.

I imagine fans of the band will like the record as it doesn’t stay too far from their last few records and seems like the natural progression musically for the band.

Needless to say, I’m disappointed in the direction the band has decided to take but there’s plenty of music out there that I’m excited about and I’m looking forward to reviewing lots of great music coming out this year.

Track Listing

1. Surviving The Game
2. Standing In The Storm
3. Dominion
4. Valley Of Death
5. Beyond Incredible
6. Destiny
7. Refuge
8. Shout Your Freedom
9. Destroyer
10. Forever Or The End
11. Ignite
12. White Horse

*Best Songs

--

--