Album Review — Def Leppard

Dave Maturo
2 min readSep 29, 2020


Def Leppard — Hysteria at the O2

The live release madness continues for Def Leppard with the two disc “Hysteria At The O2”. Unlike the “Hits Vegas” release, we get a full record (Hysteria) with five bonus tracks. But like the Vegas release, the performances are great and the price is right, also at $6.99 on iTunes.

As I mentioned in last week’s review of the “Hits Vegas” record, setlist is a big deal for me when it comes to buying live records. Are there songs I don’t already have multiple versions of? Unfortunately, I’m not sure I could justify buying this one even at the great price. You can get just about every song offered here on “Viva! Hysteria” which was released just a few years ago.

That isn’t to say this isn’t a quality performance. The band sounds quite good and Joe Elliott is in fine form. And who doesn’t love Hysteria?

But I’d have to say this one is for die hards only unless for some reason you don’t already have “Viva! Hysteria”. I would have preferred to see the band to “High And Dry” from start to finish. Now that would be something.

So if you are a die hard and have to have everything the band releases, you definitely won’t be disappointed. It’s a strong performance and it sounds great. But for everyone else, stick to “Viva! Hysteria” and “Hits Vegas” and you’ll have all the live Def Leppard you could want.

Great performance, just not enough new stuff here for me.

85 out of 100

Track Listing

1 Intro
2 Women
3 Rocket
4 Animal
5 Love Bites
6 Pour Some Sugar On Me
7 Armageddon It
8 Gods Of War *
9 Don’t Shoot Shotgun
10 Run Riot *
11 Hysteria
12 Excitable
13 Love And Affection *
14 Wasted *
15 When Love And Hate Collide
16 Let’s Get Rocked
17 Rock Of Ages
18 Photograph

*Best Songs