Album Review — Corey Taylor

Dave Maturo
2 min readOct 20, 2020

--

Corey Taylor — CMFT

When tasked to review the new Corey Taylor new album, “CMFT”, my first thought was that I hope it’s nothing like Slipknot. Nothing against Slipknot, it’s just not my thing. I know Taylor is also in Stone Sour but I haven’t really heard them. So I didn’t have a lot of expectations going in.

I’m going to start with what I like about the record. There are a few fantastic songs here. So much so that if Taylor decided to release a record that sounded like these few songs, I’d be all over it.

“Black Eyes Blue” is a fantastic track. It’s very melodic and catchy without being cheesy. It’s just a great song.

“Silverfish” sounds a bit like it could have been off of “Jar of Flies” by Alice In Chains. It’s got the acoustic feel at the start and feels a little tuned down. Another quality tune.

“Kansas” is an upbeat mid tempo rocker about the sentiments of home. Another track that has that acoustic undertone. Good stuff.

And we get the piano ballad “Home” near the end of the record. Taylor shows off his emotional side and it really works. This would have been a fantastic way to end the record. I’ll get back to this.

There are some other decent songs here. The opening track, “HWY 666”, has an almost Van Halen 1 kind of opening but turns into more of a heavy Charlie Daniels track.

“Samantha’s Gone” has more of a pop/punk feel to it with a more 80s guitar sound to it.

“Halfway Down” has a cool riff running throughout. I really like the guitars on this one.

I’m not a huge fan of “Culture Head” but I do appreciate the guitar sound here too.

The rest of the record is simply not my thing. No need to get into the negatives.

So overall, one third of the record I love, one third is pretty good and one third is basically unlistenable for me.

Overall, I’m pleasantly surprised. The highlights on “CMFT” are very high and exceeded my expectations. When I listen to this record again, I’ll stop after track 11 and be quite happy.

80 out 100

Track Listing

1. HWY 666
2. Black Eyes Blue *
3. Samantha’s Gone
4. Meine Lux
5. Halfway Down
6. Silverfish *
7. Kansas *
8. Culture Head
9. Everybody Dies On My Birthday
10. The Maria Fire
11. Home *
12. CMFT Must Be Stopped [Feat. Tech N9ne & Kid Bookie]
13. European Tour Bus Bathroom Song

*Best Songs

--

--